Surgery & Post Surgery

It was here. Gulp!

I had to make a phone call the night before my surgery to learn of my scheduled time. I was first on the docket and had to arrive at the clinic by 0530.

After my phone call, Lou and I went down the street to a local diner and had a “last” meal. Between my nerves and my disease progression, I just couldn’t eat much at all. Back to the room we went. I was given instructions to shower the night before and day of surgery with a special antiseptic soap. So, I did that, and we settled in for a long night of waiting.

The morning came quickly with the night dragging on for ever. (Explain that one!) But arrive, it did. Another shower and dressed, and we were out the door and on the way to Cleveland. Gordon would meet Lou there that morning so that he could return the rental car. I got all checked in and then was instructed to go to the surgical suite. Signed in there and sat in the waiting room until I was called back to get prepped. I was terrified and excited all at once. I was anxious to finally start feeling human again!

Prep took about 1/2 hour or so, and then Lou was allowed to come back and wait with me. We were there for about 15-20 minutes before the entire OR crew came in for their “huddle”. This is where they get together with the patient and confirm demographics, patient and procedure. This is also where the attending surgeon can either confirm the procedure and route of going or sometimes, even do some minor changes in technique. All confirmed, and it was time for me to be wheeled into the surgical suite.

I remember, it was so very cold in the room. I spoke briefly with one of the surgical interns (he was going to be assisting in the surgery) and I remember asking him to take pictures. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen, darn it! But that is about the last thing I remember until I was waking up in the ICU.

Oh my, was I in pain! And not my chest, but my back! It was in horrible spasms! I was extubated and I remember trying to roll over onto my side. All of this is fuzzy, but I do know they finally allowed me to get off the bed and into the chair that was in the room. This is where I stayed for the next day and a half.

Blood, blood, blood. It seemed as if they were drawing blood every 5 minutes. Luckily, they were able to get it out of the arterial line that was still in my neck. I remember the room was so bright. Lights on all over the place. And it was so very loud. Lots and lots going on all the time. I know that they kept me in the ICU a little bit longer than normal, because they couldn’t control my blood pressure. I wasn’t sleeping (how can anyone with all the lights and noise!). But I do remember one time my second night there, where I was finally able to catnap.

One of the side affects of one of the drugs I take, is night terrors. Lou calls them my screaming mimi’s. I don’t get them frequently, but I do get them. So, I remember during my catnap, I started screaming. The nurses came running in and woke me and decided I had had a bit too much pain medication (the button was in my lap), even though I hadn’t pushed the button in hours. So, that was taken away from me. And I heard them laughing and saying I was gorked out of my mind as they were walking away from me. I then remember I started crying. I was overwhelmed and discouraged. I just wanted to get out of there and get home.

Finally, the next day, I was able to be moved into the step down unit. Yeah for me! My blood pressure was doing much better, my heart rate and rhythm was looking good and I was able to keep down a couple of peaches.

It was nice being in a regular room. Of course it was busy during the transition, but finally…peace and quiet. I was finally able to actually try and get some rest. I didn’t have to worry about trying to get up (I still had the foley catheter in) and I couldn’t anyway. At least not without help. They had the bed alarm on. I didn’t realize it, and of course, I tried to get up on my own! Oops!

Life kinda started settling down a bit. As much as it can settle while in a hospital, anyway. I had a great team of nurses, and I absolutely loved the Surgical Nurse Practitioner that took over my care while on the floor…..Agie Stimjanin. He was great! Very attentive and welcoming. It made being there so much better.

The next day, I was able to get the foley removed and the alarm was taken off the bed. I was FREE! Well, as free as I could be in the hospital LOL. I was able to get up and walk around. And it was hard! But, I did it. I was walking laps by that evening. I would never win races, but hey….gotta start somewhere. Also, during this time, the respiratory tech came in and taught me how to use the spirometer. I was instructed to do this as much as I could during the day. The goal was to keep my lungs open and functioning to help prevent pneumonia.

The morning of the 4th day, Agie came in and asked me if I was ready to go home. I got up and started packing my stuff away. He laughed. “I take that as a yes!” Agie said to give them a couple of hours, but he would go out and start writing up my discharge orders. WOOHOO! Even more freedom! We weren’t going to go far, as we were not scheduled to fly out until Sunday (this was Friday). We already had a room booked just a couple of miles from the clinic.

I was grateful for everyone there at the clinic, but even more grateful that I was one step closer to being able to go home.

But, as goes for my life, things are never as simple as they seem……..

2 thoughts on “Surgery & Post Surgery

  1. You describe this well. So well it felt like I was right there with you. It is sad hospital staff is not always aware of what they say and don’t realize we remember it. But otherwise, I’m glad you have gotten through this. Thank you for writing about your journey. We take pain-free, healthy days for granted until we see someone else’s struggles. Keep it up! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment